When We Inevitably Decide to Grow Up

I recently came across something that stopped me dead in my tracks of perusing the internet, as I often do, and got me thinking.  For those of you who don’t know, which is everyone in this blogging world, I LOVE, let me rephrase that, ADORE the comic strip “Calvin and Hobbes“.  It has been a long time favorite of mine and I truly believe that it has attributed, to what degree I will never know, to the wildly creative nature that I have today.  I wanted to be Calvin.  I wanted to be Hobbes.  I wanted to have a friend and go on adventures and fight injustice all while being a kid.  Yes, I am older now but these goals and dreams have never left me even if the good memories from reading the comics have faded slightly.

As I write now I have become aware that I have a huge collection of comic strips all contained in a single book which has been stashed under my bed.  As I have gotten older and my time has become more and more constrained I have lost touch with this book and vital childhood experience until today when I came across the thing that stopped me dead in my tracks.  It was this “Calvin & Hobbes” link that an old friend of mine happened to post on Facebook.  Mind you I am not on Facebook much. It did two things.  Reminded me of one of countless childhood memories and also how much I had actually grown up.  My reliance on Calvin or Hobbes had drastically dwindled and I found myself not only related to the “New” version of Calvin but also hating the fact that I did not have that same relationship with Hobbes.  It was Hobbes that hadn’t changed a bit.


All that being said, this is one of my favorite things I have seen in a while.  The profound nature of this statement hit me with such sheer force that it  shook the very fabric of my being.  I have never wanted to grow up but at the same time I have very much wanted to grow up.  This strange dichotomy has waged war within my very fiber of my being, but I believe this can be the said for everyone around the world.

We only grow up in the sense that we understand (better) the social constraints of our society.

Be a kid, take a chance, be carefree, make a new dream.

Live.Laugh.NeverGrowUP

 

Leave a Reply

