Inspiration can come from Anywhere

So today I wanted to write on different topic but as we speak I am watching the movie Rango.  You may be thinking, weird, and I fully agree.  I actually have never seen it and have been avoiding watching it because I thought it too childish for me.  I started about half way through and was about to change the channel when this scene caught me with a left hook so hard and fast I had no choice but to take the blow.  Inspiration can come through any form and all it takes to accept it is an open mind:

 Two important concepts were brought up:

1.) IT’S THE DEEDS THAT MAKE THE MAN

2.) NO MAN CAN WALK OUT ON HIS OWN STORY

It is amazing to me that an animated, seemingly, childish movie could open up the human mind to such powerful pillars of understanding.  Up until I saw that part I was ready to change the channel, flipping through everything I could think of and hitting the guide button every 10 seconds.  Those two concepts stopped me dead in my tracks and got me thinking.  It inspired a thought process, it triggered an emotional response.

 Our culture facilitates a medium where it is acceptable to want to be someone other than ourselves.  People are made to feel less than and by default reach, aspiring to be others who are deemed as “better.”  There is something fundamentally wrong with that.  If you are not being the best you that YOU can, then your story won’t be the best that it can be.  The power in each and every one of our stories cannot be unmistakable.  Don’t be afraid to be yourself no matter what because there is beauty in the imperfection and uniqueness in every one of use.

What are your thoughts?  Where do you find your inspiration?  Are YOU being the best you that YOU can be?

Leave a Reply

